Feb 3rd 2015

Not Such A Grumpy Old Man After All: A Review of Donald Hall's Essays After Eighty

Lately, my writing about old age has been on the cheerful side. Not surprising, since I've been writing about successful aging and not about unsuccessful aging. Still, some people I know who are in their 80s or 90s have been saying to me, "Just you wait." I've begun to worry that my sense of aging is drawn from the young side of old age -- I am 71 -- and that I don't get what it's like to be very old.

So, when I read a review of Donald Hall's Essays After Eighty, which made him sound like a very grumpy and articulate old man bemoaning accumulating losses, I decided I should take a look and see what he had to say that would help me to get better insight into what it's like to be 10 or 20 or 30 years older than I am.

I loved the essays. And I got a bit more understanding of what it feels like to live with accumulating losses and to have more of a past than a future.

But Donald Hall does not seem to me to be an angry, bitter and unhappy old man. He may be a bit of a curmudgeon, and he sure doesn't sugarcoat things. But whatever his complaints, he clearly prefers being alive to being dead.

Hall is a very successful poet. Lots of books, lots of awards -- including a National Medal of The Arts presented by President Obama in 2010. He served briefly as the Poet Laureate of the United States.

His personal life has been complicated. He and his first wife divorced after nearly 20 years. His second wife, also a poet and a woman whom he clearly adored, died from leukemia at the age of 47. Between and after his marriages, there were many "brief romances." Now he is in a third long-term relationship with a woman whom he cares about and who takes very good care of him. He has two children and a number of grandchildren.

At one time in his life he was an academic with tenure, but he decided to give that up and to return to the family farm in New England to focus on writing and to enjoy the bucolic scenery he can watch from the porch in good weather and from a window in bad. He loves the birds that come to his feeder. He even enjoys the squirrels, though with some ambivalence because they can be tough on the birds. He also loves to watch the flowers come and go -- each in its own season.

When he was younger, he traveled to make presentations to audiences far more often than he does now. But he still gets out from time-to-time and seems to enjoy the occasional limelight and visits to art museums, even though he has to be pushed in a wheelchair.

Is his life sad? He does document losses. He is particularly unhappy about the loss of poetry, which he says he can no longer write. Poetry, he tells us, is too sensual -- even sexual -- in its origins for an old man who needs to "rub testosterone" on his chest from time-to-time. But he also points out that he still writes prose and loves doing it. It may be more laborious now. His essays, he confesses, go through revision after revision, but he must be a hell of an editor, since the essays do not feel labored at all.

He is also unhappy about his diminished physical abilities. He has had many illnesses and injuries that have left him physically "malfit," as he puts it. He has fallen many times. He uses a walker to keep from falling again and needs a wheelchair to go any distance. He no longer drives. He says "it's a comfort not to obsess about my next orgasm." It would be interesting to know whether he misses youthful sex.

In one essay, in which he seems more distressed than in the others, he reports a dream in which he is in a house that does not have a door. He writes, "My problem isn't death, but old age." He notes his physical limitations and then adds, "Friends die, friends become demented, friends quarrel, friends drift with old age into silence."

I get it. Old age, when you've lost as much as Hall has, is not a piece of cake.

But his life is not without satisfactions: Essay writing, life on the ancestral family farm, four women who look after him in various ways, Red Sox games at night, visits from children and grandchildren, the accumulation of honors and a past of great achievement and significant friendships.

Hall is interestingly sardonic about the honors he has received. He clearly takes considerable pride in his achievements and in the recognition that he's gotten. His pride, however, is self-deprecating. What might otherwise seem to be bragging and name-dropping is all balanced by irony about the awards he has received and by confessions of self-doubt, which can, he says, be triggered by the excesses of honors. He seems to want fame, but to doubt its value. "I expect my immortality will last about six seconds after my funeral." But he also talks about the resurrection of poets, noting that it took Andrew Marvel 300 years to rise from the graveyard of forgotten poets. 

Whatever the limits of his life, Hall is not yet either in the literal grave or in the metaphorical graveyard of forgotten poets. He not only was, but still is, a fabulous writer. He not only has had, but still has, a life well worth living. And he knows it.



Michael Friedman has worked in the field of mental health for over 45 years as a direct service provider, an administrator, a government official and as an educator. 

He has served on numerous advocacy and public advisory groups including, among many others, the Geriatric Mental Health Alliance (which he founded in 2004), the Veterans Mental Health Coalition of NYC (which he co-founded in 2009) and the Advisory Committee to the NYC Commissioner of Health.

He is currently on the adjunct faculty at Columbia University School of Social Work.

He is the author of numerous publications, most of which are posted at www.michaelbfriedman.com

To follow Michael Friedman on Twitter, please click here.




Browse articles by author

More Essays

Jun 17th 2021
EXTRACT: "Confronting our complex history and ultimately embracing a more equitable, balanced, and humble culture may be a tall order in these fractious times. But that makes it even more imperative that we fully reckon with who we are and who we are capable of becoming."
Jun 11th 2021
EXTARCT: "A further health benefit of hiking is that it’s classed as “green exercise”. This refers to the added health benefit that doing physical activity in nature has on us. Research shows that not only can green exercise decrease blood pressure, it also benefits mental wellbeing by improving mood and reducing depression to a greater extent than exercising indoors can."
Jun 10th 2021
EXTRACT: "“The greatness of a nation and its moral progress,” Mahatma Gandhi said, “can be judged by the way its animals are treated.” If we apply that test to the world as a whole, how much moral progress have we made over the past two millennia? ...... That question is suggested by The Golden Ass, arguably the world’s earliest surviving novel, written around 170 CE, when Emperor Marcus Aurelius ruled the Roman Empire. Apuleius, the author, was an African philosopher and writer, born in what is now the Algerian city of M’Daourouch."
Jun 4th 2021
EXTRACT: "Research we’ve done, which looked at 37 adults with type 2 diabetes, found that over two weeks, prolonged sitting was associated with high blood sugar levels. But we also found that when people stood up or walked around between periods of sitting, they had lower blood sugar levels. Other studies have also had similar results."
May 28th 2021
EXTRACT: "Paul Van Doren's legacy lies in a famous company, and in his advice to young entrepreneurs to get their hands dirty, and to know what goes into making what they are selling."
May 19th 2021
EXTRACT: "May 7th marked three hundred and ten years since the philosopher David Hume was born. He is chiefly remembered as the most original and destructive of the early modern empiricists, following John Locke and George Berkeley." .... " Shocking as it may (and should) sound, Hume is implying nothing less than that the next time you turn the key in your car ignition, you are as justified to expect the engine will start as you are in believing it will turn into a pumpkin. For there is a radical contingency that pervades all our experience. We could wake up tomorrow to a world that looks and behaves very differently to the one we are in now. Matters of fact are dependent on experience and can never be known a priori — they are purely contingent, and could always turn out different than what we expect."
May 1st 2021
EXTRACT: " The sad reality is that the Mizrahim (Jews of Middle Eastern and North African descent) were discriminated against from the day of Israel’s inception, whose Ashkenazi (European Jewish) leaders viewed them as intellectually inferior, “backward,” and “too Arab,” and treated them as such, largely because the Ashkenazim agenda was to maintain their upper-class status while controlling the levers of power, which remain prevalent to this day." ..... " The greatest heartbreaking outcome is that for yet another generation of Israelis, growing up in these debilitating conditions has a direct effect on their cognitive development. A 2015 study published in Nature Neuroscience found that “family income is significantly correlated with children’s brain size…increases in income were associated with the greatest increases in brain surface area among the poorest children.” "
Apr 25th 2021
EXTRACT: "We all owe Farah Nabulsi an enormous debt of gratitude. In a short 24-minute film, The Present, she has exposed the oppressive indecency of the Israeli occupation while telling the deeply moving story of a Palestinian family. What is especially exciting is that after winning awards at a number of international film festivals​, Ms. Nabulsi has been nominated for an Academy Award for this remarkable work of art. " 
Apr 25th 2021
EXTRACT: "When I crashed to the floor of my home in Bordeaux recently after two months of Covid-19 dizziness, I was annoyed. The next day I collapsed again. Now I was worried. What I didn’t know was that my brain was sloshing around inside my skull, causing a mild concussion. Nor did I know that I was in for a whole new world of weird and wonderful hallucinations."
Apr 13th 2021
EXTRACT: "Overall, our review has found that there isn’t evidence to back up the claims that veganism is good for your heart. But that is partly because there are few studies ....... But veganism may have other health benefits. Vegans have been found to have a healthier weight and lower blood glucose levels than those who consume meat and dairy. They are also less likely to develop cancer, high blood pressure and diabetes. "
Apr 8th 2021
EXTRACT: "Pollock’s universe, the universe of Mural, cannot be said to be a rational universe. Nor is it simply devoid of all sense. It is not a purely imaginary world, although in it everything is in a constant state of flux. Mural invokes one of the oldest questions of philosophy, a question going back to the Pre-Socratic philosophers Parmenides and Heraclitus – namely, whether the nature of Reality constitutes unchanging permanence or constant movement and flux. For Pollock, the only thing that is truly unchanging is change itself. The only certainty is that all is uncertain."
Apr 8th 2021
EXTRACT: "Many present day politicians appear to have psychopathic and narcissistic traits too. It’s easy to spot such leaders, because they are always authoritarian, following hardline policies. They try to subvert democracy, to reduce the freedom of the press and clamp down on dissent. They are obsessed with national prestige, and often persecute minority groups. And they are always corrupt and lacking in moral principles."
Apr 6th 2021
EXTRACT: "This has led some to claim that not just half, but perhaps nearly all advertising money is wasted, at least online. There are similar results outside of commerce. One review of field experiments in political campaigning argued “the best estimate of the effects of campaign contact and advertising on Americans’ candidates choices in general elections is zero”. Zero!"
Mar 30th 2021
EXTRACT: "The Father is an extraordinary film, from Florian Zeller’s 2012 play entitled Le Père and directed by Zeller. I’m here to tell you why it is a ‘must see’." EDITOR'S NOTE: The official trailer is attached to the review.
Mar 28th 2021
EXTRACT: "Picasso was 26 in 1907, when he completed the Demoiselles; de Kooning was 48 in 1952, when he finished Woman I.  The difference in their ages was not an accident, for studies of hundreds of painters have revealed a striking regularity - the conceptual painters who preconceive their paintings, from Raphael to Warhol, consistently make their greatest contributions earlier in their careers than experimental painters, from Rembrandt to Pollock, who paint directly, without preparatory studies."
Mar 26th 2021
EXTRACT: "Mental toughness levels are influenced by many different factors. While genetics are partly responsible, a person’s environment is also relevant. For example, both positive experiences while you’re young and mental toughness training programmes have been found to make people mentally tougher."
Mar 20th 2021

The city of Homs has been ravaged by war, leaving millions of people homeless an

Mar 20th 2021
EXTRACT: "There are two main rival models of ethics: one is based on rights, the other on duties. The rights-based model, which traces its philosophical origins to the work of John Locke in the 17th century, starts from the assumption that individuals have rights ....... According to this approach, duties are related to rights, but only in a subordinate role. My right to health implies a duty on my country to provide some healthcare services, to the best of its abilities. This is arguably the dominant interpretation when philosophers talk about rights, including human rights." ........ "Your right to get sick, or to risk getting sick, could imply a duty on others to look after you during your illness." ..... "The pre-eminence of rights in our moral compass has vindicated unacceptable levels of selfishness. It is imperative to undertake a fundamental duty not to get sick, and to do everything in our means to avoid causing others to get sick. Morally speaking, duties should come first and should not be subordinated to rights." ..... "Putting duties before rights is not a new, revolutionary idea. In fact it is one of the oldest rules in the book of ethics. Primum non nocere, or first do no harm, is the core principle in the Hippocratic Oath historically taken by doctors, widely attributed to the ancient Greek philosopher and physician Hippocrates. It is also a fundamental principle in the moral philosophy of the Roman statesman Marcus Tullius Cicero, who in De Officiis (On Duties) argues that the first task of justice is to prevent men and women from causing harm to others."
Mar 18th 2021
EXTRACT: "Several studies have recently compared the difference between antibodies produced straight after a coronavirus infection and those that can be detected six months later. The findings have been both impressive and reassuring. Although there are fewer coronavirus-specific antibodies detectable in the blood six months after infection, the antibodies that remain have undergone significant changes. …….. the “mature” antibodies were better at recognising the variants."
Mar 15th 2021
EXTRACT: "Like Shakespeare, Goya sees evil as something existing in itself – indeed, the horror of evil arises precisely from its excess. It overflows and refuses to be contained by or integrated into our categories of reason or comprehension. By its very nature, evil refuses to remain within prescribed bounds – to remain fixed, say, within an economy where evil is counterbalanced by good. Evil is always excess of evil." ....... "Nowhere is this more evident than in war. Goya offers us a profound and sustained meditation on the nature of war ........ The image of a Napoleonic soldier gazing indifferently on a man who has been summarily hanged, probably by his own belt, expresses the tragedy of war – its dehumanization of both war’s victims and victors."