Apr 15th 2014

Naboré’s love affair with the daunting Diabelli

by Michael Johnson

Michael Johnson is a music critic with particular interest in piano. 

Johnson worked as a reporter and editor in New York, Moscow, Paris and London over his journalism career. He covered European technology for Business Week for five years, and served nine years as chief editor of International Management magazine and was chief editor of the French technology weekly 01 Informatique. He also spent four years as Moscow correspondent of The Associated Press. He is the author of five books.

Michael Johnson is based in Bordeaux. Besides English and French he is also fluent in Russian.

You can order Michael Johnson's most recent book, a bilingual book, French and English, with drawings by Johnson:

“Portraitures and caricatures:  Conductors, Pianist, Composers”

 here.

Contrary to many keyboard artists, pianist William Grant Naboré seems perfectly at home with Beethoven’s daunting Diabelli Variations. I saw him in performance at Steinway Hall in London a few years ago and watched him attack the keyboard the instant his derrière hit the piano bench. No gazing at the ceiling, no settling of the nerves, no crackling of the knuckles. He breezed through the 33 Variations like the wind.

Few pianists have achieved such an intimate relationship with the Diabelli gems although many have tried. 

I had a chat recently with Naboré on the occasion of his upcoming CD, “Diabelli” (Academy Productions), which I was able to hear privately before U.S. distribution in July. I was impressed how effortlessly his playing hops from contrapuntal perfection to warm emotionality to finger-blinding virtuosity. This recording is remarkable for all those points plus his clarity of articulation in the face of huge pianistic demands.

For answers, I sought him out at the highly regarded International Piano Academy Lake Como in Italy where he is long-time director. 

Naboré tells me his secret -- he has been deeply involved in the Diabelli since his teenage years as a prodigy in the United States and has built his mastery over it year by year. By now he has “become one” with this hour and 15 minutes of pure, distilled Beethoven keyboard genius. 

The original Diabelli waltz is transformed with such variety and originality, Naboré says, that life itself seems reflected therein. “I hope you will find something here about what it is to be human,” he adds, “-- the joys, the love, the anger, hope, belief, disbelief, disappointments, complaints, the sighs …” 

Naboré points out that Beethoven had the advantage of playing the Diabellis on his beloved Broadwood, a much lighter-action instrument than today’s Steinway. The modern iron-framed instrument produces greater power but at the expense of touch. By about 1875, new techniques of playing had to be developed to master the mechanics of the modern piano. The Diabelli became more difficult than ever.

Further casting doubts over the variations is the notion, shared by many commentators even today, that the waltz theme is too trivial to work with. “Many performers … use this contempt as a tool with which to bang, batter, and otherwise abuse Diabelli’s simple, lively, and unassuming short waltz,” wrote Eleanor Perrone, a piano faculty member of the Concord Academy in Massachusetts, in an essay on the pieces. 

Naborde adds: “Today, playing at speed, in forte and articulating at the same time is a great challenge for any pianist.” One of the best examples of carrying it off well, he believes, is Rudolf Serkin’s 1954 live recording, now available on YouTube:.


(https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hni6k-yQZ1w)

To better understand the structure of this sprawling composition, it is useful to think in terms of eight groupings of four variations each. Each includes a major departure from common practice. For example, the first variation, instead of stretching out the spirit and rhythm just laid down, Beethoven blasts the listener with a march maestoso, contrasting brutally with the sweeter theme. Each grouping then has its surprises --  such as accents on weak beats, trills and “syncopated joy”, Naboré writes in his program note. Grouping 7 is the scherzo section, followed in the final grouping, the “crowning glory of the entire set”, by the equivalent of the slow movement, ending in whimsical departure.

The story behind the Variations is an example of the random circumstances that often lurk behind great achievements in the arts. Viennese publisher and minor composer Anton Diabelli decided in 1819 to invite 50 composers to write a variation on a simple (some say simple-minded) waltz of his own creation. Czerny, Moscheles, Hummel, Schubert and Liszt were among those invited. His plan was to publish a book of these variations for piano students. 

Beethoven, already an established composer of the grandest works, at first sniffed at the offer. But in the end, he found potential for his special talents in Diabelli’s bouncy waltz, and over several years proceeded to twist it, turn it, make it march, make it weep, make it dance, make it religious, profane and humorous. “Like an ugly ducking,” says Naboré, “Diabelli’s innocuous little waltz becomes a swan.”

In the end, Diabelli & Co. brought out two volumes – one combining several composers, the other devoted solely to Beethoven’s collection. Significantly, Beethoven called his versions “Veranderungen” (Transformations), not “Variationen” (Variations), an indication that he considered these short pieces well above the level of bagatelles. Who could not agree with that assessment?

Distributor in the United States will be LMI (www.launchmusicinternational.co.uk), supplied by Allegro.

 


This article is brought to you by the author who owns the copyright to the text.

Should you want to support the author’s creative work you can use the PayPal “Donate” button below.

Your donation is a transaction between you and the author. The proceeds go directly to the author’s PayPal account in full less PayPal’s commission.

Facts & Arts neither receives information about you, nor of your donation, nor does Facts & Arts receive a commission.

Facts & Arts does not pay the author, nor takes paid by the author, for the posting of the author's material on Facts & Arts. Facts & Arts finances its operations by selling advertising space.

 

 

Browse articles by author

More Music Reviews

Jul 25th 2020
EXTRACT: "Scarlatti sonatas are enjoying a popular surge in recent years, tempting pianists –Europeans, Americans, Asians -- to try to master their broad range. Margherita has some advice: “Don’t be afraid to slow down, to speed up, to play the truly singable melodies with a quasi-Romantic feeling.” "
Jul 18th 2020
EXTRACT: "The dizzying output of John Cage the musician, the poet, the writer, the thinker, the artist, was so prolific that one of his sidelines – his interests in wild mushrooms -- has been almost overlooked. A new a two-volume set of books, beautifully designed by Capucine Labarthe, packaged in an elegant slipcover, seeks to fill this gap."
Jul 9th 2020
EXTRACT: "In our chat by telephone, Paley spoke from his Paris apartment and asserted his belief that Rameau was “the greatest French composer ever. Pure genius and very special colors.” He acknowledges his extensive research into the period of Rameau’s life (1683-1764) in order to recreate the spirit of the time."
Jul 8th 2020
EXTRACT: "In A Fistful of Dollars (1964) and subsequent films, Morricone opted for an unprecedented fusion of archaic-sounding lines in the melody, reminiscent of medieval modal music. He intermixed this sound with contemporary pop touches (the Fender electric guitar), wordless choirs, unusual instruments (Jew’s harp, ocarinas, mariachi trumpets…) and ambient sounds (whip cracks, whistles, gunshot, coyote’s howls). He also infused scores with his trademark humour. This can be heard in the comedy western Il Mio Nome è Nessuno (My Name is Nobody, Tonino Valerii, 1973) where a toy trumpet toots bits of Wagner’s Ride of the Valkyries."
Jul 1st 2020
EXTRACT: "Question: Are you collaborating with living composers? Answer: Yes, Scott Wollschleger sends me unfinished new works every month. Keeril Makan is working on a piano concerto. Melaine Dalibert has dedicated several recent works to me. There are more names on the horizon. But these are the three where I feel I can have a big impact on their careers, and all three write music that I feel born to play. That combination of things is important to me."
Jun 1st 2020
EXTRACT: "Question: How do you see your musical mission today? Answer: My real passion in music is to resist popularity rankings and market forces. In my view, these currents impoverish our cultural richness........."
May 1st 2020
EXTRACT: Alessandro Deljavan: "I bought a former convent 40 kilometers from Pescara, in Villamagna. It's very important for me to breathe clean air and live as simply as possible. Life in a giant city full of cars and smog is hard for me to imagine. My perspective is always to live fully. My aspirations for the best musical experiences guides my decisions and over the past several years I have had the pleasure of meeting and working with some wonderful musicians—these experiences have brought me a sense of optimism for what might lie ahead.”
Apr 16th 2020
EXTRACT: "Federico Mompou, the reclusive Catalonian composer whose calm, spare piano writing is currently enjoying a rebirth, might well look askance at any effort to pull him forward into modern mode. Such was never his genre but that’s precisely what one of his ardent admirers, pianist Maria Canyigueral, proposed to do. The result is her intriguing new CD, Avant-guarding Mompou."
Mar 22nd 2020
EXTRACT: "In our interview, Prof. Réach says he cautions his students in Barcelona to approach the Variations with care, warning them “the path will be long and will require great patience”. He has personally overcome his fear of this “masterpiece of masterpieces”, having recorded them three times and performed them in about 15 countries a total of about 150 times."
Mar 13th 2020
EXTRACT: "The 88-key piano looks headed for a major transformation in the coming decades. The mechanism under the lid is based on a 130-year-old design and many specialists believe it is time to dispense with those delicate moving parts.  As innovative Australian piano builder Wayne Stuart says, “The piano has been crying out for a rethink for over a hundred years.” "
Mar 8th 2020
EXTRACT: "Question: You have a Paris background. What do you bring to Granados to ensure Spanish flavor? Delicacy? Momentum? Singing and dancing undertones? Rubato?........Answer: First, I am profoundly European........."
Feb 15th 2020
EXTRACT: "Question: You have said that you are plagued by doubts. Is this true?.........Answer: Of course I am plagued by doubts. This is part of the artist’s life. But I continue to work and perform. I have moments of depression but I try to transform these doubts into positives. Many artists have these doubts. Some don’t talk about it. But doubt is always there."
Jan 26th 2020
EXTRACT: "QUESTION: Wouldn’t young composers of today benefit from aligning themselves with a philosophical ethos in order to find their musical voice -- as opposed to trying merely to find their own voice by drawing on imagination or personal experience?.......... ANSWER: It’s an interesting question, but open to interpretation. My impulse is to answer yes. When young I did a tremendous amount of reading in the history of aesthetics, and as a result my sense of artist -- ethos, necessity, whatever -- is not limited to post-WWII influences. One result is that I’ve never had any patience for the late-20th-century idea that art is about “personal expression.” The ancient and more enduring view is that the artist expresses what is out there to be expressed. As T.S. Eliot admirably wrote, art is an escape from personality, not an expression of it. Likewise I’ve never warmed to the idea of “finding one’s voice,” which sounds to me too much like creating an instantly recognizable trademark style that will make your music easier to market commercially."
Jan 19th 2020
EXTRACT: "It has been a long journey I enjoy re-living as I take note this year of the great Ludwig van Beethoven’s 250th birthday. As a practicing music critic and journalist from American corn country, I call myself a hick hack but I experience meltdown at almost everything the great man wrote. How can one not love Beethoven?"
Jan 9th 2020
EXTRACT: "Judith Juaregui, based in Madrid but peripatetic in her concertizing around Europe, is gaining an international audience of admirers, boosted by the brilliant pianistic colors of her Debussy, Liszt, Falla, Chopin and Mompou in her fifth CD, “Pour le Tombeau de Claude Debussy”, just out. This album was recorded at a recital in Vienna last year, her first foray into live recording, and she is  rather pleased with the result, which, she says in our interview (below), captured a “moment of honesty”. She left everything in, including the vigorous applause from the audience."
Dec 11th 2019
EXTRACTS: "The young tousle-haired pianist from the distant Minnesota, Reed Tetzloff, is building a performance career in the U.S. and Europe by steering a course through rare repertoire that is both challenging and attractive for the listener........In our email question-and-answer discussion he explains his priorities as a musician and his attraction to a wide range of repertoire."
Dec 9th 2019
Extract: "Then the house lights came up and the rest of us rushed out, relieved that it was all over."
Nov 15th 2019
Extract: "Question: Mompou was modest, yet one of his famous comments is similar to Handel’s remark that he was writing down what God dictated. Mompou said he did not think up music, he simply transmitted it. Answer: The Mompou’s idea about God was interesting. God was a great force that also could destroy his own creation, like a child who in a moment of joy treads on an ant without noticing. Mompou explained that, in his case, the music was not coming from inside to outside, but the opposite way, from outside to the inside, with him being the intermediary of this flow, as a kind of medium. Mompou felt embarrassed to be called on stage after a performance of his music. He was convinced that if the work was really good, it was not entirely created by himself. 
Oct 27th 2019
Composer Kyle Gann’s new book ‘The Arithmetic of Listening’ analyzes microtonality and makes a plea for the music fraternity to open its ears to the new directions possible. After 22 years of teaching at Bard College in the eastern United States, Gann has become a guru or godfather of new music, and continues to produce captivating compositions, as in his new two-CD album ‘Hyperchromatica’. His latest book analyzes and explains tuning theory. In this interview he asserts that new music that gets the attention of publishers and producers today is mostly “derivative crap”. The golden age of “downtown” music from 1960 to 2000 assembled “a bunch of escapees from the twin hells of academia and corporate commercialism”.
Oct 21st 2019
EXTRACT: "A powerful new talent from Italy, Alessandro Deljavan, made his U.S. East Coast debut October 19, with a magnificent reading of the Brahms Piano concerto No. 2 under conductor Benjamin Zander and the Boston Philharmonic Orchestra."