Jun 4th 2015

Note to Harvey Goldsmith: it's your music that's dead, not festivals

by Mike Jones

Mike Jones is Course Director MA (Music Industries) at University of Liverpool.
Music festivals are about to die, according to leading rock promoter and manager Harvey Goldsmith.

Speaking recently at the Hay Literary festival, he declared that it would be gatherings such as Hay, where a diverse range of interests are represented, which would come to replace live music festivals. Goldsmith thinks that there aren’t any new bands surfacing to fill the stages of the UK’s 900+ festivals. But what he fails to acknowledge is that there are plenty of other musical acts to replace them – perhaps more than ever.

Goldsmith is living in the past – the rock music past in which he carved himself a considerable name and fortune. His most notable achievement was the staging of Live Aid and he has long been in the business of “stadium” shows, one-off events featuring very big names. It is perhaps unsurprising that a man who has produced the Who, Queen and The Rolling Stones thinks that the festival is dying – it is true is that there are now fewer obvious “headline” acts for rock festivals than in days gone by.

To take the Glastonbury Festival as an example, the last genuinely “new” rock act to appear as headliners were Arctic Monkeys in 2007, who had broken through late in 2005 and were the dominant UK act of the following year. But this last breakthrough act was symptomatic of the turning point in the music scene.

Social monkeys

The Arctic Monkeys were a media story waiting to happen. The band emerged in exactly the period that saw the overlap between the decline of MySpace and the rise of Facebook and YouTube – in the moment when the true impact of social media became evident.

It was the contrived story about them being the first band to “make it” through the internet that gave them the media prominence that helped their first album become the fastest-selling debut in UK chart history. The point here is that this can only happen once. The future of the recording industry was already being shaped by the combination of iTunes and the iPod.

If 2007 was the year of the Arctic Monkeys it was also the year that downloads from the iTunes store started amping up. The iPod had been launched in 2001 with the slogan “a thousand songs in your pocket”: the emphasis on songs not albums. This change in emphasis is what saved the major record companies from the negative impact of file-sharing – but also what damaged it mortally.

Until the late 1990s, the recording industry was the dominant industry of music and it enjoyed its ascendancy because the key purchase made by pop music fans was the album – notably the rock album. The rock album had been born with Rubber Soul by the Beatles – their first, non-film score, album to contain all their own songs, songs that bore the introspective imprint of Bob Dylan.

The album had low production costs and enormous sales, making it – and the format it so greatly encouraged – a true money spinner. It was this money-spinning industry that then helped to replace the ailing live performance, “variety” industry with the “live music industry” that Harvey Goldsmith entered in the early 1970s.

Fashioning stars

As Joni Mitchell put it in her 1974 song Free Man in Paris, the recording industry was, by that time, a “star-making machinery”. But now this “machinery” has become generalised. Today, as old communities disintegrate and the world is increasingly globalised, individuals find their role models in celebrities – and celebrities can be sports stars or chat-show hosts or chefs or even those who are famous for being famous, as well as pop stars and film stars.

Meanwhile, music users no longer have the patience to wait for rock bands to spend a few years making an album, particularly when it is individual tracks that are prized over exactly the album format through which rock stars came to be stars.

But although the days of the primacy of the rock star may be over, the live music event is far from dead, far from buckling to competition with sporting events or comedy shows, as Goldsmith seems to imply. There are plenty of live music events that function and are growing: those that involve dance music.

What the Americans call “Electronic Dance Music” (EDM) is what the British have long understood as club culture. Dance music is the quintessential music for the internet age: it is track-based, it is perfectly comfortable in a brand-driven, celebrity–obsessed culture and it draws people in their hundreds of thousands to live music events.

This summer, while the Who headline Glastonbury, David Guetta will headline T in the Park. The Who’s set-list will not have changed for decades, Guetta’s is likely to change every night. There is no contest. Harvey Goldsmith’s business model is what is past its peak – not live music events.

The Conversation

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.



Mike Jones is Programme Director for the MA in Music Industry Studies. Songwriter with Latin Quarter, most recent album 'Tilt' (May 2014) on Westpark Music. Monograph on Music Industry published by Palgrave-Macmillan 2012, The Music Industries: from conception to consumption.




Browse articles by author

More Music Reviews

Sep 21st 2021
EXTRACT: "Top prize, worth 22,000 euros, went to Jae Hong Park, a flamboyant, emotive player with and a firm grasp of Rachmaninov, and second prize went to Do-Hyun Kim, who played Prokofiev’s second concerto with some considerable verve. Placing third was Lukas Sternath, a young Austrian who performed Beethoven’s Fifth Piano Concerto with cool charm -- the opposite of Park’s style."
Jul 9th 2021
EXTRACT: " .....I have to give everything in these concerts,.... "
Jun 26th 2021
EXTRACT: What do you want to be known as? --- As “Stewart Goodyear, composer and pianist”.
Mar 15th 2021
EXTRACT: Denis Pascal, founder of the French Trio Pascal: ".....recording studios began working again. We recorded our Schubert trios at the end of September. And musicians everywhere are finding that the crisis allows time for a certain introspection and questioning into the way music is performed. Music will play a much more important role after the crisis."
Feb 12th 2021
EXTRACTS: "She began her piano training rather late in life – age 8." ..... "I want to contribute a sense of joy by discovering atypical works that might surprise an educated public. I have great experience and am inclined to share them with anyone who can appreciate them, or as André Gide wrote, anyone “who has an open mind”."
Jan 31st 2021
EXTRACTS: "A new recording of Franz Liszt’s piano compositions presents ten carefully balanced pieces in a double-CD album aptly titled Between Light and Darkness, launched by Piano Classics. The pianist, the veteran French virtuoso Vincent Larderet .... Larderet opens his CD with a moving exploration of Après une Lecture de Dante with a tortured lyricism unmatched by many of his contemporaries who play it. I was stunned the first time I heard his performance. In our interview below, he describes lyricism as “an essential facet of my musical conception. The piano must be able to sing like the human voice.” "
Jan 16th 2021
EXTRACT: "Jack Kohl is an American pianist and writer with three novels and two essay collections to his credit. His new collection, From the Windows of Diligence: Essays from a Standing Pianist, has drawn critical acclaim in the U.S. and Europe. In these reflections, he examines the power of ‘hack pianism’, the metaphor of running vs. the piano, and the ‘hidden gift’ of the Covid virus pandemic on solitary practicing. Robert Beattie spoke to Kohl about his music training and how he made the transition from pianist to author. (This edited interview was first published on www.Seenandheard-international.com and is reproduced with permission.)"
Dec 17th 2020
EXTRACT: "Freedom in Beethoven’s music takes many, frequently overlapping forms. There is heroic freedom in the Eroica (1803), freedom from political oppression in the Egmont Overture (1810), artistic freedom and innovation in the Ninth Symphony (1824). Today, Beethoven’s music remains deeply connected with a true humanism, which has the principles of freedom and self-determination at its heart. The composer’s music grew out of the age of European Enlightenment, which located human reason and the self at the centre of knowledge......"
Nov 27th 2020
EXTRACT: "One of the most durable tales in Western civilization – the legend of Faust – is brilliantly rendered in a piano adaptation, performed this week by the multi-talented Australian musician of German/Slovenian parentage, Ashley Hribar. A new recording of the music, now available digitally, will appear as a CD in the New Year. Hribar calls his recording, “Faust: A Mortal’s Tale”.  It is a personal musical reflection on the Faust story, loosely based on the 1926 silent film by Wilhelm Friedrich Murnau."
Aug 6th 2020
EXTRACT: "For 60 minutes, my mind was clear, the air was clean and the sound heavenly. It was my honor and privilege to have been there."
Jul 25th 2020
EXTRACT: "Scarlatti sonatas are enjoying a popular surge in recent years, tempting pianists –Europeans, Americans, Asians -- to try to master their broad range. Margherita has some advice: “Don’t be afraid to slow down, to speed up, to play the truly singable melodies with a quasi-Romantic feeling.” "
Jul 18th 2020
EXTRACT: "The dizzying output of John Cage the musician, the poet, the writer, the thinker, the artist, was so prolific that one of his sidelines – his interests in wild mushrooms -- has been almost overlooked. A new a two-volume set of books, beautifully designed by Capucine Labarthe, packaged in an elegant slipcover, seeks to fill this gap."
Jul 9th 2020
EXTRACT: "In our chat by telephone, Paley spoke from his Paris apartment and asserted his belief that Rameau was “the greatest French composer ever. Pure genius and very special colors.” He acknowledges his extensive research into the period of Rameau’s life (1683-1764) in order to recreate the spirit of the time."
Jul 8th 2020
EXTRACT: "In A Fistful of Dollars (1964) and subsequent films, Morricone opted for an unprecedented fusion of archaic-sounding lines in the melody, reminiscent of medieval modal music. He intermixed this sound with contemporary pop touches (the Fender electric guitar), wordless choirs, unusual instruments (Jew’s harp, ocarinas, mariachi trumpets…) and ambient sounds (whip cracks, whistles, gunshot, coyote’s howls). He also infused scores with his trademark humour. This can be heard in the comedy western Il Mio Nome è Nessuno (My Name is Nobody, Tonino Valerii, 1973) where a toy trumpet toots bits of Wagner’s Ride of the Valkyries."
Jul 1st 2020
EXTRACT: "Question: Are you collaborating with living composers? Answer: Yes, Scott Wollschleger sends me unfinished new works every month. Keeril Makan is working on a piano concerto. Melaine Dalibert has dedicated several recent works to me. There are more names on the horizon. But these are the three where I feel I can have a big impact on their careers, and all three write music that I feel born to play. That combination of things is important to me."
Jun 1st 2020
EXTRACT: "Question: How do you see your musical mission today? Answer: My real passion in music is to resist popularity rankings and market forces. In my view, these currents impoverish our cultural richness........."
May 1st 2020
EXTRACT: Alessandro Deljavan: "I bought a former convent 40 kilometers from Pescara, in Villamagna. It's very important for me to breathe clean air and live as simply as possible. Life in a giant city full of cars and smog is hard for me to imagine. My perspective is always to live fully. My aspirations for the best musical experiences guides my decisions and over the past several years I have had the pleasure of meeting and working with some wonderful musicians—these experiences have brought me a sense of optimism for what might lie ahead.”
Apr 16th 2020
EXTRACT: "Federico Mompou, the reclusive Catalonian composer whose calm, spare piano writing is currently enjoying a rebirth, might well look askance at any effort to pull him forward into modern mode. Such was never his genre but that’s precisely what one of his ardent admirers, pianist Maria Canyigueral, proposed to do. The result is her intriguing new CD, Avant-guarding Mompou."
Mar 22nd 2020
EXTRACT: "In our interview, Prof. Réach says he cautions his students in Barcelona to approach the Variations with care, warning them “the path will be long and will require great patience”. He has personally overcome his fear of this “masterpiece of masterpieces”, having recorded them three times and performed them in about 15 countries a total of about 150 times."