Jun 9th 2014

Caressing the arpeggios: Shirley Hunt does Bach’s cello suites

by Michael Johnson

Michael Johnson is a music critic with particular interest in piano. 

Johnson worked as a reporter and editor in New York, Moscow, Paris and London over his journalism career. He covered European technology for Business Week for five years, and served nine years as chief editor of International Management magazine and was chief editor of the French technology weekly 01 Informatique. He also spent four years as Moscow correspondent of The Associated Press. He is the author of five books.

Michael Johnson is based in Bordeaux. Besides English and French he is also fluent in Russian.

You can order Michael Johnson's most recent book, a bilingual book, French and English, with drawings by Johnson:

“Portraitures and caricatures:  Conductors, Pianist, Composers”

 here.

The Bach suites for solo cello can leave you suffused, body and soul, with their plangent resonances if you allow them to. These six intimate pieces seem conceived to exploit the sensual nature of the cello.

Since the revival of the suites in the 1990s, cellists have taken them to the concert stage often enough to make them standard repertoire. The CD catalog is replete with personalized interpretations by the great masters of the instrument, including Mstislav Rostropovich, Paul Tortelier, Pablo Casals and Yo-yo Ma. 

Now comes Shirley Hunt from Cambridge, Massachusetts, with her soulful renditions of two of the favorites, No. 1 in G major (BWV 1010) and No. 4 in E flat major (BWV 1007), performed on her baroque William Forster Sr. cello dated from 1775 (Letterbox Arts). This is the first of an ambitious three-CD series.

Ms. Hunt fairly caresses the Bach arpeggios in these first pieces, producing a resonant, singing tone that stays in the mind. Her grandiose opening of No. 4 in E flat major is a stunner, and her sensitive phrasing coaxes what she believes to be Bach’s intentions throughout. The climactic Gigue movement leaves one breathless. The G major was familiar enough upon first hearing to set me humming along with her.

I was sufficiently taken by Ms. Hunt’s high-wire (no net) interpretations that I turned to her program notes to see where she was coming from. Her brief notes are almost poetic as her playing. “Bach has staying power in a world littered with ephemera,” she writes. To experience the suites is to “touch something mysterious and deep, so deep it cannot be named, only felt – as one feels the humming of the earth in a mountain peak or the trunk of a giant sequoia”.

The secret is the open strings on the cello that Bach specified, notably the prelude to No. 1 in G major that calls for resonating G and D, defining, as one critic put it, “the essence of the piece: ringing, soothing, pure, natural”.

I further pursued Ms. Hunt for a few words on the preparation that went into these recordings. She responded that they have been in her repertoire since high school, college and conservatory days. But there is no end to the study of Bach, she says. “There are so many layers to dissect, understand and experience. The scope for interpretation means that Bach has created, in effect, a kind of laboratory in which “each performance or recording opportunity allows different facets of this poetic music to emerge or retreat”. 

She spent a full year concentrating on the three selections on this disc, including seven weeks of total immersion while artist-in-residence at the Banff Centre for the Arts, Alberta, Canada, a highly regarded “creativity incubator”. Her goal at several performances of these works during her stay was to deliver interpretations that were “never the same twice”.

Technical feats in No. 4 call on great physical discipline, including “lots of complicated finger work to execute even the simplest- sounding passages”, she tells me.  Only a cellist might appreciate that there are few open-string passages in the E flat major suite so that “an incredible amount of endurance is required – something one must practice in the manner of a marathon runner. The object being to train the body to perform over long stretches “with as much grace and ease as possible”.

Ms. Hunt’s playing is also a delight to observe. Regrettably these two suites are not yet up on YouTube but No. 6 in D minor is. I found her elegant, long-fingered technique fascinating to watch while connecting with her personal absorption in the music.


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z32OjC4cQwI

Also on this CD is an example of Ms. Hunt’s other main instrument, the viola da gamba, with Ian Pritchard on the harpsichord, playing Sonata No. 3 in G minor (BWV1029). Ms. Hunt said it best. This piece offers “a glimpse of vibrant sociability amongst musical lines, a balanced cup brimming with ebullient chatter and cascades of splendid counterpoint”.

The cello suites have inspired interesting variations from major composers, bringing the full keyboard to bear – including piano accompaniment by Robert Schumann and complete transcriptions Leopold Godowsky. Some other reworkings are on the goofy side (the tuba, ukelelee).

The Cinema has not overlooked the dramatic impact hidden inside the cello’s sonorities. Susan Sarandon literally sets her cello on fire in The Witches of Eastwick and Jack Nicholson convincingly plays her accompanist and mentor, among other things. “Let it out,” Nicholson implores. And she does. 

A slightly more subdued role of the cello is in Christopher Walken’s hands in A Late Quartet. Sarandon and Walken needed extensive tutoring to fake the fingerings and body language but the sound track by professionals made the most of the cello’s growling, soaring, not to say erotic, potential.

 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YF6FluTRdD0&list=PLPWZv5--hK0umufCgZif5otVN5h-557x_

Ms. Hunt ranges widely in the solo and ensemble repertoire but for her, Bach is in a class by himself. As she put it, Bach offers the “infinite possibility and continual promise of renewal and refreshment through repeat listening, repeat performances and even new and inventive arrangements”.




The CD is available at www.letterboxarts.com:


 


This article is brought to you by the author who owns the copyright to the text.

Should you want to support the author’s creative work you can use the PayPal “Donate” button below.

Your donation is a transaction between you and the author. The proceeds go directly to the author’s PayPal account in full less PayPal’s commission.

Facts & Arts neither receives information about you, nor of your donation, nor does Facts & Arts receive a commission.

Facts & Arts does not pay the author, nor takes paid by the author, for the posting of the author's material on Facts & Arts. Facts & Arts finances its operations by selling advertising space.

 

 

Browse articles by author

More Music Reviews

Aug 6th 2020
EXTRACT: "For 60 minutes, my mind was clear, the air was clean and the sound heavenly. It was my honor and privilege to have been there."
Jul 25th 2020
EXTRACT: "Scarlatti sonatas are enjoying a popular surge in recent years, tempting pianists –Europeans, Americans, Asians -- to try to master their broad range. Margherita has some advice: “Don’t be afraid to slow down, to speed up, to play the truly singable melodies with a quasi-Romantic feeling.” "
Jul 18th 2020
EXTRACT: "The dizzying output of John Cage the musician, the poet, the writer, the thinker, the artist, was so prolific that one of his sidelines – his interests in wild mushrooms -- has been almost overlooked. A new a two-volume set of books, beautifully designed by Capucine Labarthe, packaged in an elegant slipcover, seeks to fill this gap."
Jul 9th 2020
EXTRACT: "In our chat by telephone, Paley spoke from his Paris apartment and asserted his belief that Rameau was “the greatest French composer ever. Pure genius and very special colors.” He acknowledges his extensive research into the period of Rameau’s life (1683-1764) in order to recreate the spirit of the time."
Jul 8th 2020
EXTRACT: "In A Fistful of Dollars (1964) and subsequent films, Morricone opted for an unprecedented fusion of archaic-sounding lines in the melody, reminiscent of medieval modal music. He intermixed this sound with contemporary pop touches (the Fender electric guitar), wordless choirs, unusual instruments (Jew’s harp, ocarinas, mariachi trumpets…) and ambient sounds (whip cracks, whistles, gunshot, coyote’s howls). He also infused scores with his trademark humour. This can be heard in the comedy western Il Mio Nome è Nessuno (My Name is Nobody, Tonino Valerii, 1973) where a toy trumpet toots bits of Wagner’s Ride of the Valkyries."
Jul 1st 2020
EXTRACT: "Question: Are you collaborating with living composers? Answer: Yes, Scott Wollschleger sends me unfinished new works every month. Keeril Makan is working on a piano concerto. Melaine Dalibert has dedicated several recent works to me. There are more names on the horizon. But these are the three where I feel I can have a big impact on their careers, and all three write music that I feel born to play. That combination of things is important to me."
Jun 1st 2020
EXTRACT: "Question: How do you see your musical mission today? Answer: My real passion in music is to resist popularity rankings and market forces. In my view, these currents impoverish our cultural richness........."
May 1st 2020
EXTRACT: Alessandro Deljavan: "I bought a former convent 40 kilometers from Pescara, in Villamagna. It's very important for me to breathe clean air and live as simply as possible. Life in a giant city full of cars and smog is hard for me to imagine. My perspective is always to live fully. My aspirations for the best musical experiences guides my decisions and over the past several years I have had the pleasure of meeting and working with some wonderful musicians—these experiences have brought me a sense of optimism for what might lie ahead.”
Apr 16th 2020
EXTRACT: "Federico Mompou, the reclusive Catalonian composer whose calm, spare piano writing is currently enjoying a rebirth, might well look askance at any effort to pull him forward into modern mode. Such was never his genre but that’s precisely what one of his ardent admirers, pianist Maria Canyigueral, proposed to do. The result is her intriguing new CD, Avant-guarding Mompou."
Mar 22nd 2020
EXTRACT: "In our interview, Prof. Réach says he cautions his students in Barcelona to approach the Variations with care, warning them “the path will be long and will require great patience”. He has personally overcome his fear of this “masterpiece of masterpieces”, having recorded them three times and performed them in about 15 countries a total of about 150 times."
Mar 13th 2020
EXTRACT: "The 88-key piano looks headed for a major transformation in the coming decades. The mechanism under the lid is based on a 130-year-old design and many specialists believe it is time to dispense with those delicate moving parts.  As innovative Australian piano builder Wayne Stuart says, “The piano has been crying out for a rethink for over a hundred years.” "
Mar 8th 2020
EXTRACT: "Question: You have a Paris background. What do you bring to Granados to ensure Spanish flavor? Delicacy? Momentum? Singing and dancing undertones? Rubato?........Answer: First, I am profoundly European........."
Feb 15th 2020
EXTRACT: "Question: You have said that you are plagued by doubts. Is this true?.........Answer: Of course I am plagued by doubts. This is part of the artist’s life. But I continue to work and perform. I have moments of depression but I try to transform these doubts into positives. Many artists have these doubts. Some don’t talk about it. But doubt is always there."
Jan 26th 2020
EXTRACT: "QUESTION: Wouldn’t young composers of today benefit from aligning themselves with a philosophical ethos in order to find their musical voice -- as opposed to trying merely to find their own voice by drawing on imagination or personal experience?.......... ANSWER: It’s an interesting question, but open to interpretation. My impulse is to answer yes. When young I did a tremendous amount of reading in the history of aesthetics, and as a result my sense of artist -- ethos, necessity, whatever -- is not limited to post-WWII influences. One result is that I’ve never had any patience for the late-20th-century idea that art is about “personal expression.” The ancient and more enduring view is that the artist expresses what is out there to be expressed. As T.S. Eliot admirably wrote, art is an escape from personality, not an expression of it. Likewise I’ve never warmed to the idea of “finding one’s voice,” which sounds to me too much like creating an instantly recognizable trademark style that will make your music easier to market commercially."
Jan 19th 2020
EXTRACT: "It has been a long journey I enjoy re-living as I take note this year of the great Ludwig van Beethoven’s 250th birthday. As a practicing music critic and journalist from American corn country, I call myself a hick hack but I experience meltdown at almost everything the great man wrote. How can one not love Beethoven?"
Jan 9th 2020
EXTRACT: "Judith Juaregui, based in Madrid but peripatetic in her concertizing around Europe, is gaining an international audience of admirers, boosted by the brilliant pianistic colors of her Debussy, Liszt, Falla, Chopin and Mompou in her fifth CD, “Pour le Tombeau de Claude Debussy”, just out. This album was recorded at a recital in Vienna last year, her first foray into live recording, and she is  rather pleased with the result, which, she says in our interview (below), captured a “moment of honesty”. She left everything in, including the vigorous applause from the audience."
Dec 11th 2019
EXTRACTS: "The young tousle-haired pianist from the distant Minnesota, Reed Tetzloff, is building a performance career in the U.S. and Europe by steering a course through rare repertoire that is both challenging and attractive for the listener........In our email question-and-answer discussion he explains his priorities as a musician and his attraction to a wide range of repertoire."
Dec 9th 2019
Extract: "Then the house lights came up and the rest of us rushed out, relieved that it was all over."
Nov 15th 2019
Extract: "Question: Mompou was modest, yet one of his famous comments is similar to Handel’s remark that he was writing down what God dictated. Mompou said he did not think up music, he simply transmitted it. Answer: The Mompou’s idea about God was interesting. God was a great force that also could destroy his own creation, like a child who in a moment of joy treads on an ant without noticing. Mompou explained that, in his case, the music was not coming from inside to outside, but the opposite way, from outside to the inside, with him being the intermediary of this flow, as a kind of medium. Mompou felt embarrassed to be called on stage after a performance of his music. He was convinced that if the work was really good, it was not entirely created by himself. 
Oct 27th 2019
Composer Kyle Gann’s new book ‘The Arithmetic of Listening’ analyzes microtonality and makes a plea for the music fraternity to open its ears to the new directions possible. After 22 years of teaching at Bard College in the eastern United States, Gann has become a guru or godfather of new music, and continues to produce captivating compositions, as in his new two-CD album ‘Hyperchromatica’. His latest book analyzes and explains tuning theory. In this interview he asserts that new music that gets the attention of publishers and producers today is mostly “derivative crap”. The golden age of “downtown” music from 1960 to 2000 assembled “a bunch of escapees from the twin hells of academia and corporate commercialism”.