Aug 14th 2014

Why Benjamin Britten’s War Requiem still resounds today

by Nicholas Ashton

Nicholas Ashton is senior lecturer at Edinburgh Napier University.  He is a performing musician - a pianist - with over twenty three years of experience working within an academic environment. He combines practical work with a keen interest in analysis and music theory, and has an especial interest in contemporary performance.

The past may be a foreign country, but in terms of war, they do not do things differently there; death is death at any time and in any language.

No other work in the Classical repertoire could be more topical or appropriate in commemorating the centenary of the Great War than Benjamin Britten’s War Requiem, to be performed at the Edinburgh International Festival at the Usher Hall on August 14 by the Philharmonia Orchestra with Sir Andrew Davis at the helm.

Shostakovich – no stranger to the political statement – considered the work to be the greatest composition of the 20th century, even though, as he died in 1975, one wonders whether anything that came after it (Stockhausen’s helicopters, John Adams’ Nixon or Klinghoffer?) would have changed his mind.

Certainly, the effect on all who were present at the 1962 premiere inaugurating the rebuilt St. Michael’s Cathedral in Coventry, was devastating. The great German baritone soloist, Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau, was reportedly unable to speak after the performance.

The coruscatingly powerful mixture of settings from the Latin Mass for the Dead with nine of Wilfrid Owen’s finest poems, potently delivered by a huge combination of full and chamber orchestras, a full choir, a boys’ choir and three soloists in the cavernous space of the new church, was a spectacle not to be brushed way. It is as though Britten had set out to unleash his most powerful musical thought in creating a work which, in its unequivocally pacifist message, should be as relevant and meaningful in any time.

Pacifism was a stance Britten had always been at great pains to articulate: he had remained in the USA in 1939 at the outbreak of World War II, and returned to Britain in 1942 to face the Tribunal for the Registration of Conscientious Objectors. His response was courageous, if simple; that the useful role of an artist is to create, not to destroy.

In 1945, he travelled with Yehudi Menuhin to witness the liberation of the Bergen-Belsen Concentration Camp and, perhaps influenced by this and by that other monument to Pacifism, Tippett’s A Child of Our Time, he contemplated writing a choral work based upon the atomic attacks on Hiroshima and Nagasaki, to be entitled Mea Culpa, in 1946. This commission did not materialise, however, and it took the space of the intervening 15 years of gestation for the War Requiem finally to emerge.

The principal message of the work is uncompromising, direct and unswerving: it is the denunciation of War, of all wars; in Owen’s own words: “My subject is war, and the pity of war. The poetry is in the pity; all a poet can to today is warn”. It is especially poignant, then, to look back not just at the terrible events which the Requiem specifically commemorates and which at the time – the Cold War at its most tense – served to provide a solemn warning, but also to reflect that even such a powerful, monumental artistic masterpiece can have little practical effect – either permanent or temporary – on any political landscape; during the performance of this work next week, there will be murders in Gaza and Israel, in Ukraine, in Syria.

Beneath this major theme, there are other layers of polemic as carefully nuanced as the actual formal layering of the musical texture. Britten writes as a humanist; that is, one who has stripped away the more artful derivations of humanitarianism to its basic meaning: to be human, to respond as an individual, often in the teeth of popular opposition.

In his speech, given at Aspen, Colorado accepting the Award for Services to Humanity in 1964, Britten begins with an intentionally deceptive and craftsman-like naivete in reference to the simple human circumstances of composing the Requiem; that it was required to be performed in a large, formerly Gothic space necessitating a dramatic polyphonic work in keeping with the resonant acoustic.

He maintains this apparent simplicity in stating that he composes for humans, he appeals directly to the human ear and the human heart: “Music does not exist in a vacuum, it does not exist until it is performed, and performance imposes conditions. It is the easiest thing to write a piece virtually or totally impossible to perform – but oddly enough that is not what I prefer to do; I prefer to study the conditions of performance and to shape my music to them.”

Even more subtly embedded in the Requiem is Britten’s own response both as a Christian (perhaps in the larger sense) and as an outsider, in that his own private emotional and sexual life - at least as a young man - precluded acceptance by socially accepted norms. Indeed, in his decision to set Wilfrid Owen, there would certainly have been a conscious connection, not just with Owen’s brutal denunciation of war, but the poet’s own emotional and sexual outsider-ness; there is a strong, if concealed undercurrent of homoeroticism in much of his work. Here again, one would hope to be able to point to the progress in acceptance and openness, yet there is still Uganda, there is still Russia.

The performance scheduled for the Edinburgh Festival on August 14 could not be presented with greater pedigree; in the form of Sir Andrew Davis, whose magisterial approach to conducting Britten is without peer; to the three marvellously well-chosen singers whose nationalities, Russia in soprano Albina Shagimuratova, Britain in tenor Toby Spence and baritone in German Mathias Goerne, mirror Britten’s specific intended nationalities to be represented at the premiere; and to the Philharmonia supported by the National Youth Choir of Scotland directed by Christopher Bell. Whatever one may think of the lasting effect of the work, its resonant, tragic power in a performance of this calibre is unmissable.

The Conversation

Nicholas Ashton does not work for, consult to, own shares in or receive funding from any company or organisation that would benefit from this article, and has no relevant affiliations.

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.



For Nicholas Ashton's web site, please click here.



     

Browse articles by author

More Music Reviews

Mar 15th 2021
EXTRACT: Denis Pascal, founder of the French Trio Pascal: ".....recording studios began working again. We recorded our Schubert trios at the end of September. And musicians everywhere are finding that the crisis allows time for a certain introspection and questioning into the way music is performed. Music will play a much more important role after the crisis."
Feb 12th 2021
EXTRACTS: "She began her piano training rather late in life – age 8." ..... "I want to contribute a sense of joy by discovering atypical works that might surprise an educated public. I have great experience and am inclined to share them with anyone who can appreciate them, or as André Gide wrote, anyone “who has an open mind”."
Jan 31st 2021
EXTRACTS: "A new recording of Franz Liszt’s piano compositions presents ten carefully balanced pieces in a double-CD album aptly titled Between Light and Darkness, launched by Piano Classics. The pianist, the veteran French virtuoso Vincent Larderet .... Larderet opens his CD with a moving exploration of Après une Lecture de Dante with a tortured lyricism unmatched by many of his contemporaries who play it. I was stunned the first time I heard his performance. In our interview below, he describes lyricism as “an essential facet of my musical conception. The piano must be able to sing like the human voice.” "
Jan 16th 2021
EXTRACT: "Jack Kohl is an American pianist and writer with three novels and two essay collections to his credit. His new collection, From the Windows of Diligence: Essays from a Standing Pianist, has drawn critical acclaim in the U.S. and Europe. In these reflections, he examines the power of ‘hack pianism’, the metaphor of running vs. the piano, and the ‘hidden gift’ of the Covid virus pandemic on solitary practicing. Robert Beattie spoke to Kohl about his music training and how he made the transition from pianist to author. (This edited interview was first published on www.Seenandheard-international.com and is reproduced with permission.)"
Dec 17th 2020
EXTRACT: "Freedom in Beethoven’s music takes many, frequently overlapping forms. There is heroic freedom in the Eroica (1803), freedom from political oppression in the Egmont Overture (1810), artistic freedom and innovation in the Ninth Symphony (1824). Today, Beethoven’s music remains deeply connected with a true humanism, which has the principles of freedom and self-determination at its heart. The composer’s music grew out of the age of European Enlightenment, which located human reason and the self at the centre of knowledge......"
Nov 27th 2020
EXTRACT: "One of the most durable tales in Western civilization – the legend of Faust – is brilliantly rendered in a piano adaptation, performed this week by the multi-talented Australian musician of German/Slovenian parentage, Ashley Hribar. A new recording of the music, now available digitally, will appear as a CD in the New Year. Hribar calls his recording, “Faust: A Mortal’s Tale”.  It is a personal musical reflection on the Faust story, loosely based on the 1926 silent film by Wilhelm Friedrich Murnau."
Aug 6th 2020
EXTRACT: "For 60 minutes, my mind was clear, the air was clean and the sound heavenly. It was my honor and privilege to have been there."
Jul 25th 2020
EXTRACT: "Scarlatti sonatas are enjoying a popular surge in recent years, tempting pianists –Europeans, Americans, Asians -- to try to master their broad range. Margherita has some advice: “Don’t be afraid to slow down, to speed up, to play the truly singable melodies with a quasi-Romantic feeling.” "
Jul 18th 2020
EXTRACT: "The dizzying output of John Cage the musician, the poet, the writer, the thinker, the artist, was so prolific that one of his sidelines – his interests in wild mushrooms -- has been almost overlooked. A new a two-volume set of books, beautifully designed by Capucine Labarthe, packaged in an elegant slipcover, seeks to fill this gap."
Jul 9th 2020
EXTRACT: "In our chat by telephone, Paley spoke from his Paris apartment and asserted his belief that Rameau was “the greatest French composer ever. Pure genius and very special colors.” He acknowledges his extensive research into the period of Rameau’s life (1683-1764) in order to recreate the spirit of the time."
Jul 8th 2020
EXTRACT: "In A Fistful of Dollars (1964) and subsequent films, Morricone opted for an unprecedented fusion of archaic-sounding lines in the melody, reminiscent of medieval modal music. He intermixed this sound with contemporary pop touches (the Fender electric guitar), wordless choirs, unusual instruments (Jew’s harp, ocarinas, mariachi trumpets…) and ambient sounds (whip cracks, whistles, gunshot, coyote’s howls). He also infused scores with his trademark humour. This can be heard in the comedy western Il Mio Nome è Nessuno (My Name is Nobody, Tonino Valerii, 1973) where a toy trumpet toots bits of Wagner’s Ride of the Valkyries."
Jul 1st 2020
EXTRACT: "Question: Are you collaborating with living composers? Answer: Yes, Scott Wollschleger sends me unfinished new works every month. Keeril Makan is working on a piano concerto. Melaine Dalibert has dedicated several recent works to me. There are more names on the horizon. But these are the three where I feel I can have a big impact on their careers, and all three write music that I feel born to play. That combination of things is important to me."
Jun 1st 2020
EXTRACT: "Question: How do you see your musical mission today? Answer: My real passion in music is to resist popularity rankings and market forces. In my view, these currents impoverish our cultural richness........."
May 1st 2020
EXTRACT: Alessandro Deljavan: "I bought a former convent 40 kilometers from Pescara, in Villamagna. It's very important for me to breathe clean air and live as simply as possible. Life in a giant city full of cars and smog is hard for me to imagine. My perspective is always to live fully. My aspirations for the best musical experiences guides my decisions and over the past several years I have had the pleasure of meeting and working with some wonderful musicians—these experiences have brought me a sense of optimism for what might lie ahead.”
Apr 16th 2020
EXTRACT: "Federico Mompou, the reclusive Catalonian composer whose calm, spare piano writing is currently enjoying a rebirth, might well look askance at any effort to pull him forward into modern mode. Such was never his genre but that’s precisely what one of his ardent admirers, pianist Maria Canyigueral, proposed to do. The result is her intriguing new CD, Avant-guarding Mompou."
Mar 22nd 2020
EXTRACT: "In our interview, Prof. Réach says he cautions his students in Barcelona to approach the Variations with care, warning them “the path will be long and will require great patience”. He has personally overcome his fear of this “masterpiece of masterpieces”, having recorded them three times and performed them in about 15 countries a total of about 150 times."
Mar 13th 2020
EXTRACT: "The 88-key piano looks headed for a major transformation in the coming decades. The mechanism under the lid is based on a 130-year-old design and many specialists believe it is time to dispense with those delicate moving parts.  As innovative Australian piano builder Wayne Stuart says, “The piano has been crying out for a rethink for over a hundred years.” "
Mar 8th 2020
EXTRACT: "Question: You have a Paris background. What do you bring to Granados to ensure Spanish flavor? Delicacy? Momentum? Singing and dancing undertones? Rubato?........Answer: First, I am profoundly European........."
Feb 15th 2020
EXTRACT: "Question: You have said that you are plagued by doubts. Is this true?.........Answer: Of course I am plagued by doubts. This is part of the artist’s life. But I continue to work and perform. I have moments of depression but I try to transform these doubts into positives. Many artists have these doubts. Some don’t talk about it. But doubt is always there."